top of page

240sx Manual Transmission Conversion

Manual Transmission conversion (Pre-Preparation)

I have been starting to gather parts for the manual conversion of the s14.5. Although, this is not my top priority as I am putting toward all my effort into bring the pink car back to the track. It is slated to receive a set of forged pistons, new valve seals, and ARP hardware. A slightly larger T28 turbo will be used for more boost pressure.

The holes at the firewall for the clutch pedal and master cylinder are not pre-cut on an automatic car. I used a half inch drill bit to make a pilot hole for the metal knockout punch, and two more holes for the two long studs of the clutch pedal assembly protruding the firewall.

Here is the metal knockout punch I used. It's basically a big screw with a round cup against a ball bearing on one end and a threaded flow cup at the other. The firewall is sandwiched between the round cup and the flower cup. Screwing the stud against the flower cup draws it into the round cup which bites into the firewall until a perfect round hole is produced. It's a neat 20 dollars tool I found at Harbor Freight.

There is a mini computer that needs to be relocated from the steering column area by clutch pedal resting place. undo two 10mm bolts and it is free to be moved.

The top part of the clutch pedal assembly is held on with a single 12mm bolt.

At this point. The pedal assembly is installed. I have the master cylinder all cleaned up and ready to go but since the pedal will not be functional until the rest of the conversion is installed, I just decided to leave it out of the car for now. Notice the odd shape offset fluid reservoir of this JDM master cylinder.

bottom of page